What Is the Difference Between a Vegetarian and a Vegan?

  • by

Vegetarian vs. Vegan: What’s the Difference?

To people who do not follow a vegetarian or vegan diet, the distinction between them may sound, not so different. Of course, beef does not include any of these diet, but what about brownies, yogurt and pizza? And what about all the various vegetarianism variations? Although adopting these diets takes care and a lot of research, it is actually quite simple to understand their differences.

The main difference between vegans and vegetarians

Vegans do not eat animal products, whereas vegetarians do not eat animals, but may eat items (such as milk, cheese and eggs) that come from them. Due to health concerns, religious restrictions or moral worries regarding harming animals, people typically choose these diets.

Although all vegans tend to follow the same set of clear guidelines for cutting –consuming nothing from an animal–there are a few different types of vegetarian diets.

Type of vegetarianism

Lacto-ovo (or ovo-lacto), is the most common type of vegetarian, that derives from the Latin word for milk and egg. People who follow this diet, as the name suggests, eat dairy products and eggs but avoid meat, poultry and seafood.

Lacto vegetarians eat dairy products but no eggs, meat, poultry and seafood.

Ovo vegetarians does eat eggs but no dairy products, meat, poultry or seafood.

Pesco vegetarians, or pescatarians, do not follow the traditional vegetarian definition. People who follow this semi-vegetarian diet eat fish and other seafood, but no poultry or meat,

Vegetarian vs. Vegan: What's the Difference? - Nature's Path

What is Veganism

For moral reasons, Vegans who choose this diet appear to be adamant about animal welfare, so many avoid wearing leather and suede because they are made from animal skins. This may also avoid any fabrics made from animal by-products, including wool and silk, as they often damage the animals used to make such materials. Most vegans are also searching for cosmetics and beauty products that are cruely-free.

What food to avoid as a vegan

Because many people do not know how many supposedly animal-free foods actually contain small amounts of animal products, it can come with a lot of surprises to become vegan or vegetarian. Of starters, non-fat yogurt and candy often include gelatin, which is made from animal parts, and some types of orange juice are fortified from fish with omega-3.

Until ordering it, it is necessary for vegans and vegetarians to ask questions about how restaurant food is prepared. Most meat-free soups and sauces are made from chicken or beef stock, tortillas are sometimes made from lard, and fried foods can be made from animal fat.

Vegans often resist honey, and the product labels of any new food must be carefully read. Most chocolate, for example, is vegan, but there are other forms of milk.

Vegetarian vs. Vegan: What's the Difference? - Nature's Path

Concerns about nutritions

Such diets may be very healthy, but vegans and vegetarians, like anyone else, need to be mindful of nutritional deficiencies. Milk products, for example, are a big source of calcium and vitamin D, so vegans and ovo vegetarians can eat lots of dark leafy greens (another good source of calcium) and choose calcium-fortified foods. You might also want to take vitamin D supplements if you’re going vegan.

Vitamin B12 is needed to prevent anemia, and since it is only found naturally in animal products, vegans in particular may want to consider vitamin supplements or nutrient-enhanced foods.

Embracing the vegan life

Luckily, vegetarians do not suffer from a lack of nutritious and delicious foods. If properly prepared, vegetables, fruits, grains, nuts and beans are ideal for both diets. And vegans can choose from a large array of products produced from dairy substitutions based on plants. You can also prepare and bake your favorite treats with a few quick swaps.

Try a vegan charcuterie spread, tomato, avocado cheesy oats, or spicy burgers of black bean. They are the kind of vegan treats that will devour even meat eaters!